The Judging

All written entries will be judged against the set criteria as outlined in the entry form by our exclusive panel of expert judges. From this three finalists in each category will be chosen Judging takes place on 4th October in London

Chair of Judging Panel

Meurig Raymond, NFU President 

Meurig Raymond farms 3,600 acres in Pembrokeshire in partnership with his twin brother, eldest son and nephew.  The farm grows 2,200 acres of combinable crops and 355 acres of potatoes. There are 620 dairy cows, with 300 followers. The farm also has 600 head of beef cattle and around 2,500 store lambs, fattened during winter.

Meurig, born in 1952, was elected local branch Chairman of the NFU in 1979 and Pembrokeshire County Chairman in 1989.  In 1992 he became the Welsh NFU Treasurer and served as the Pembrokeshire delegate on NFU Council between 1995 and 2004.

He served as Vice-Chairman of the NFU’s Cereals Committee between 1999 and 2001 and served on the Agricultural Wages Board for six years from 1998. He was elected as Vice President of the NFU in 2004, became Deputy President in 2006 and President in 2014 and was re-elected for a second term in 2016.  He represents European farmers on the European Commission’s High Level Forum for a Better Functioning Supply Chain – working to improve the position of farmers in the food chain across Europe.

Meurig represented Wales on the Home Grown Cereals Authority between 1997 and 2004 and he served on the Council of Food from Britain between 1997and 2003. He became a Fellow of the Royal Agricultural Society in 2000 and was awarded an MBE in the Queen’s New Year’s Honours in January 2005 for his services to agriculture.  He was presented with an Honorary Doctorate from Harper Adams in 2014.

He is married to Hilary and they have three grown up children. His eldest son Paul is involved in the family farming business. Nicola is CEO of South Australia Lucerne Growers in Adelaide, and assistant to the Director Nuffield, Australia, and Jonathan is an investment manager with Quilter Cheviot in London.

Lord Curry of Kirkharle Kt, CBE, FRAgS

Donald Curry lives in Northumberland and has been a Crossbench Peer in the House of Lords since 2011.

He was a founding trustee of the Prince’s Countryside Fund and has been Chair since March 2016.

In June 2014 he was appointed Chair of Cawood Scientific, an independent provider of accredited analytical laboratory testing services for the land-based sector.

He is a trustee of Clinton Devon Estates, and also Anglican International Development (AID), a charity leading on a range of development projects in South Sudan.

He retired as Chair of the Council of the Royal Veterinary College in August 2019 a position he had held for 7 years.

From 2009 until the summer of 2016 he was Chair of the Leckford Estate Management Committee – the Waitrose Farm.  He was appointed chair of the Better Regulation Executive in 2010 and remained there until the end of 2015.

He was appointed as a board member of the NFU Mutual Insurance Company in 1997 and was Chairman from June 2003 to December 2011.

He Chaired the Policy Commission on the Future of Farming and Food reporting to Government in January 2002 and was responsible for overseeing the Government’s Strategy for Sustainable Farming and Food until March 2009.

He served as a Crown Estate Commissioner from January 2000 until December 2007.

He was first appointed as a Meat and Livestock Commission Commissioner in October 1986 and Chaired the Commission from September 1993 until April 2001 throughout the BSE crisis and the Foot and Mouth disease outbreak.

He was a founder, of ‘At Home in the Community’ in 1990, a charity providing care and support for people with learning disabilities, and was Chair until 2014.

He was awarded a CBE for his services to Agriculture in the 1997 New Year’s Honours list, a Knighthood in the Birthday Honours in 2001 and was appointed as a cross bench peer in the House of Lords in October 2011.

In 2004 he was awarded an Honorary Doctorate (BSc) by Cranfield University, an Honorary Doctorate by the University of Gloucestershire in 2005 and a Doctorate of Civil Law by Newcastle University in 2008.

Sir Peter Kendall, Chair of AHDB 




FMC Boehringer Ingelheim Warners Bridgestone Corteva